Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland

Public Consultation

Proposed Councillor Numbers

council area	existing councillor numbers	proposed councillor numbers	change in councillor numbers
Aberdeen City	43	45	2
Aberdeenshire	68	70	2
Angus	29	27	-2
Argyll and Bute	36	33	-3
Clackmannanshire	18	18	0
Dumfries and Galloway	47	43	-4
Dundee City	29	31	2
East Ayrshire	32	32	0
East Dunbartonshire	24	22	-2
East Lothian	23	21	-2
East Renfrewshire	20	18	-2
Edinburgh, City of	58	63	5
Eileanan an Iar, Na h-	31	28	-3
Falkirk	32	30	-2
Fife	78	75	-3
Glasgow City	79	85	6
Highland	80	72	-8
Inverclyde	20	22	2
Midlothian	18	18	0
Moray	26	25	-1
North Ayrshire	30	33	3
North Lanarkshire	70	77	7
Orkney Islands	21	21	0
Perth and Kinross	41	40	-1
Renfrewshire	40	43	3
Scottish Borders	34	32	-2
Shetland Islands	22	22	0
South Ayrshire	30	27	-3
South Lanarkshire	67	64	-3
Stirling	22	23	1
West Dunbartonshire	22	22	0
West Lothian	33	34	1

We are currently undertaking a 12 week period of public consultation on councillor numbers, for each council area in Scotland, as part of our Fifth Reviews of Electoral Arrangements.

Legislation says that we must conduct electoral reviews of each local authority at intervals of 8 to 12 years. The population of any local authority area is constantly changing. As a result, some councillors may represent considerably different number of electors than their colleagues.

We will be reviewing the number of councillors and the boundaries of the electoral wards for each of Scotland's 32 local authorities.

Each ward must elect 3 or 4 councillors, and we design wards to match the number of councillors for each ward.

In 2015 we will be undertaking further consultation on ward boundaries.

Tell us what you think of our proposals via our interactive consultation portal www.consultation.lgbc-scotland.gov.uk or by emailing or writing to us at the address below.

Our proposals and further information are available on our website.

Please submit your comments by 21 August 2014

Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland Thistle House 91 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh, EH12 5HD

Phone: 0131 538 7510 Fax: 0131 538 7511

Website:

www.lgbc-scotland.gov.uk

Consultation Portal:

www.consultation.lgbc-scotland.gov.uk

Email:

lgbcs@scottishboundaries.gov.uk

www.lgbc-scotland.gov.uk

The Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland is an independent public body established by Parliament to advise Ministers on local government boundaries.