

Minutes of the 29th Annual General Meeting held on 30th May 2011 in Portobello Baptist Church Hall

Present: Sandra Blake, Archie Burns, Celia Butterworth, Diana Cairns, Dawson Currie, Maria Devoy, Lilian Graham, Caroline Hosking, Peter McColl, Joe Madden (Portobello Open Door), Brenda Molony (*Portobello Reporter*), Margaret Munro (Portobello History Society), Andrew Patterson (Portobello Council of Churches), David Scott (Portobello Community Centre), John Stewart (PAS), Nick Stroud, Ros Sutherland (PPAG), Anne Ward (PCATS), Sean Watters (Towerbank Parents Council), Frances Wraith (Brightons & Rosefield Residents).

Apologies: Tom Ballantine, Cllr Mike Bridgman, Nelson Johnstone, Lawrence Marshall (Portobello Older People's Project), Leon Thompson.

In attendance: Cathy Cherizard (CEC), Cllr Maureen Child, Cllr Stephen Hawkins, Kenny MacAskill (MSP), Ben McLeish (Gilberstoun Residents), Katie Quinn (CEC), John Young (Portobello Police) and several members of the public.

29.1 Chairman's Introduction

John Stewart welcomed everyone to the Community Council's 29th AGM.

29.2 Minutes of the last AGM

The minutes of the 2010 AGM were approved at the June 2010 ordinary Community Council meeting. The Chairman invited additional comments, but there were none, so the minutes were endorsed: proposed by Dawson Currie, seconded by Anne Ward.

29.3 Chairman's Report

John Stewart's report covered the wide range of activities which have occupied the Community Council over the past year:

"We have had an extremely busy year as a community council, much of our time having been taken up with major planning applications for the area. These included applications for the new High School, the former Scottish Power site, Newcraighall East and North, Fort Kinnaird and the hovercraft terminal. With developers now submitting Proposal of Application Notices first, as well as the planning application itself, this has resulted in far more of our time being taken up with both presentations and the formulating of our responses. I would like to thank all of you who helped us to respond to these and to other planning applications.

The community council also took part in the public inquiry concerning the Viridor waste transfer site application. I would like to thank Peter McColl for speaking on our behalf and to congratulate the PONGS group, many of whom are also community councillors, on their success in rebutting Viridor's appeal.

We have also commented on the proposed changes to the way planning applications are determined, arguing for a stronger role for community council representation.

We have been active in many other areas as well. Four new groups have been set up, concerning the use of the town hall, traffic management, the re-instatement of the Baptist Church Clock and community consultation. These join Celia Butterworth's 'signs and boards' sub-committee which continues its good work, the latest achievement being Nick Stroud's 'Stroll round Portobello' map which is now in place on the three community notice boards. Sincere thanks to all of you who have volunteered to work on these groups.

Two other initiatives have been carried out this year. The community council now has its own website. I would like to thank Joe in particular for his hard work here. We have also set up an area in the library where the public can access information about the PCC and the work we do. I would like to thank Diana Cairns for her work setting this up.

It is impossible to mention all the issues that the PCC has taken up in the past year. The restoration of the play area shelter on the Promenade, the replacement of the 'Welcome to Portobello' signs, improved signage to Bridge Street car park and improvements to Rosefield Park are only a few of the issues we have been involved with.

The community council also organised a most successful and very well attended hustings event. Thanks for this go to Leon Thompson, Tom Ballantine and Andrew Patterson.

I would also like to thank several other people for all the help they have given us throughout the year. Cathy Cherizard from the City Council's East Team has been unstinting in all the help she has given us both in her regular environment update and in the many other issues we have asked her to help us with. We congratulate her on her recent promotion and wish her well in her new position. We are also fortunate in the help we have been given by our local police force and I would like to thank Sarah, Matt and John for all their support.

Our three local councillors – Maureen, Stephen and Mike – have provided us with invaluable support throughout the year, as have our MP and MSP, Sheila and Kenny.

I would also like to thank Peter McColl for representing us on the Neighbourhood Partnership and Dawson Currie for representing us on the EACC.

"My final thanks go to your office bearers, Margaret, Nick, Diana and Leon, for all their hard work throughout the year, and of course to yourselves for attending PCC meetings on such a regular basis."

Maureen Child thanked John Stewart for his hard work as Chair.

29.4 Treasurer's Report

With Leon Thompson unable to attend the meeting, John Stewart presented the accounts for 2010–2011, going over detailed summaries of income and expenditure for the Community Council, Joppa Tennis Courts, and Interpretive Boards and Plaques. At the year's end the Community Council had £2,577.09 in the bank.

29.5 Election of officers for 2011-2012

Maureen Child took the chair for the election of the Community Council chairman. John Stewart was nominated, and with no other nominations he was elected and resumed the chair to fill the other posts. Nominations were as follows:

		Proposed	Seconded
Chair	John Stewart	Brenda Molony	Caroline Hosking
Vice Chair	Brenda Molony	Diana Cairns	Ros Sutherland
Treasurer	Leon Thompson	Joe Madden	Maria Devoy
Joint Secretary	Diana Cairns	Anne Ward	Frances Wraith
Joint Secretary	Nick Stroud	Dawson Currie	Maria Devoy

29.6 Any Other Business

There was none.

29.7 Next AGM

The next AGM is due to be held on Monday 28th May 2012.